VIIICAM

VULCAN COUNTY

Vulcan - Alberta

BYLAW 2013-025

Being a Bylaw of Vulcan County in the Province of Alberta to establish a Municipal Planning Commission pursuant to Section 626 of the Municipal Government Act, RSA 2000, Chapter M-26, as amended (the "MGA").

WHEREAS the Council of Vulcan County, duly assembled, pursuant to Section 626 of the MGA, hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. The Municipal Planning Commission of Vulcan County is hereby established.
- 2. Pursuant to Section 623 and 624 of the MGA, the Municipal Planning Commission shall be the subdivision approving authority and the development authority of the Municipality.
- 3. Definitions:
 - a. "Municipality" means Vulcan County.
 - b. "Council" means the Municipal Council of Vulcan County.
 - c. "Member" means a member of the Municipal Planning Commission appointed pursuant to this Bylaw.
 - d. "Secretary" means the person appointed by Council to act as secretary to the Municipal Planning Commission
 - e. All other terms used in this Bylaw shall have the same meaning as is assigned to them by the MGA.
- 4. The Municipal Planning Commission shall be composed of six (6) members of Council.
- 5. Appointments to the Municipal Planning Commission shall be made by resolution of Council.
- 6. Appointments to the Municipal Planning Commission shall be for a term of two (2) years.
- 7. When a member ceases to be a member of the Municipal Planning Commission before the expiration of their term, Council shall appoint another member for the unexpired portion of that term within 60 days of receiving notice of the vacancy.
- 8. The members of the Municipal Planning Commission shall elect one of themselves as Chair and one of themselves as Vice-Chair to hold office

- for a term of one year from the date of election.
- Each member of the Municipal Planning Commission shall be entitled to such remuneration and travelling expenses as may be fixed from time to time by Council and the remuneration and travelling expense shall be paid by Vulcan County.
- 10. Council shall, by resolution, appoint a secretary who shall be an employee of the municipality and shall attend all meetings of the Municipal Planning Commission but shall not vote on any matter before the Municipal Planning Commission.
- 11. Three members of the Municipal Planning Commission constitute a quorum.
- 12. Meeting procedures for the Municipal Planning Commission shall be in accordance and adhere to the applicable sections of the Vulcan County Council Procedural Bylaw.
- 13. The Municipal Planning Commission shall make decisions in accordance with the Vulcan County Land Use Bylaw.
- 14. The decision of those members of the Municipal Planning Commission present at a meeting shall be deemed to be the decision of the whole Municipal Planning Commission.
- 15. The Municipal Planning Commission may make its orders, decisions, development permits and approvals and issue notices with or without conditions.
- 16. The secretary of the Municipal Planning Commission shall attend all meetings of the Municipal Planning Commission and shall keep the following records with respect thereto:
 - a) the minutes of the meetings:
 - b) all applications;
 - c) records of all notices of meetings and of persons to whom they were sent:
 - d) copies of all written representations to the Municipal Planning Commission;
 - e) notes to each representation;
 - the names and addressed of those making representations at the meeting;
 - g) the decision of the Municipal Planning Commission;
 - h) the vote of the members of the Municipal Planning Commission on the decision:
 - records of all notices of decision and of person(s) to whom they were sent;
 - j) all notice, decisions and orders made on appeal from the decision of the Municipal Planning Commission, and
 - k) such other matters as the Municipal Planning Commission may direct.

Bylaw 2012-014 is hereby rescinded.

This Bylaw shall take effect on the date of the third and final reading and signing thereof.